Back to blog
Tools & Software|14 min read|

Dayforce Pricing in 2026$175,172 per customer, by its own reporting

Dayforce has never published a rate. Until February 2026 it filed one with the SEC every quarter anyway, under a different name. That number is the closest thing to a real price this vendor has ever put in public.

Start where every buyer starts. Type dayforce.com/pricing into a browser and you get a 404. There is no rate card, no plan comparison, no starting-from figure anywhere on the site. Navigation splits by company size into 100 to 1,000 employees, 1,000 to 12,000, and 12,000 plus, and each path ends at the same place: schedule a demo, or call the discovery line.

The aggregators fill that vacuum with estimates, and the estimates disagree wildly. One site puts Dayforce in the same PEPM band as Paycom. Another quotes a flat monthly figure with no headcount attached, which is not a price at all. None of them have your contract, and most are working from a handful of buyer-reported numbers that were never comparable to begin with.

There is a better source, and almost nobody uses it. Dayforce, Inc. was a public company until Thoma Bravo completed its $12.3 billion acquisition on February 4, 2026. Every quarter until then it reported a metric called Dayforce recurring revenue per customer, along with a live customer count and a retention rate. Those are audited numbers filed under penalty of law. Divide, and you get the average annual spend of a real Dayforce customer.

This piece works from those filings. What the average customer pays, what that implies at your headcount, how the three-to-five-year term shapes the deal, and which lines actually move in a negotiation. If you are still deciding whether you need a full suite or a hiring system, read ATS vs HRIS first, and sanity-check any total against BLS employer cost data. Workforce software should be a small slice of what you spend on the workforce.

The reported number

The average Dayforce customer pays $175,172 a year

That figure comes straight from the Q3 2025 Form 10-Q, the last one Dayforce ever filed. Recurring revenue per customer for the trailing twelve months to September 30, 2025 was $175,172, against $159,496 for the same period a year earlier. Live customers stood at 7,025. The 2024 Form 10-K fills in the years before it.

Dayforce key performance measures, as filed

Reported metricFY2023FY2024TTM Sep 2025

Live Dayforce customers

As of September 30, 2025

6,3936,8767,025

Dayforce recurring revenue per customer

Trailing twelve months

$146,771$163,101$175,172

Cloud annualized recurring revenue

Full-year figures only

$1,250.6M$1,474.1MNot disclosed

Annual revenue retention rate

Almost nobody leaves

97.1%98.0%Not disclosed

Customer count grew 4.4%. Spend per customer grew 9.8%. Over the twelve months to September 2025, Dayforce added 295 net customers and raised the average customer bill by $15,676. More than half of the growth investors were buying came from existing customers paying more, not from new logos.

Read the two growth rates against each other. Customers rose 4.4% year over year. Spend per customer rose 9.8%. In the year before that, per-customer spend rose 11.1% while the base grew about 7.6%. Dayforce has been growing faster by charging its existing customers more than by winning new ones, and it told investors so in plain language: revenue increases were attributable to both more customers and higher revenue per customer, in that order.

That is not an accusation. It is the standard suite playbook, and it is exactly what a land-and-expand model is supposed to do. You buy payroll and time, then benefits, then talent, then learning, and the bill grows every year without a single renegotiation. The 98% retention rate says the strategy works, because switching an HCM suite is hard enough that almost nobody does it.

What it should change is how you read your own quote. If a rep shows you a number for a core scope and describes the rest as things you can add later, price those later items now. Ask for the standalone rate of every module you might ever want, in writing, held for the term. Nine or ten percent compounding on a six-figure base is what the growth curve above is made of.

Your number

Turn one average into a per-employee rate for your company

A single average across 7,025 customers is not your price. It is an anchor. The useful move is to divide it by headcounts across the range Dayforce sells into and see what PEPM each one implies, then find where your own company lands.

$175,172 a year, expressed as PEPM at five headcounts

250 employees

$58.39

per employee, per month

Far above market

500 employees

$29.20

per employee, per month

High but seen

1,000 employees

$14.60

per employee, per month

Full-suite normal

2,500 employees

$5.84

per employee, per month

Volume pricing

5,000 employees

$2.92

per employee, per month

Enterprise floor

One reported figure, five very different prices. The average Dayforce customer pays $175,172 a year in recurring fees. Divide that by your own headcount and you get the PEPM that Dayforce's typical deal implies at your size. If your quote sits well above the line for your band, you are either buying more modules than the average customer or paying more for the same ones.

My read of that spread is that the typical Dayforce customer sits somewhere between 700 and 2,000 employees on a fairly full module list. At 1,000 people, $14.60 PEPM for HR, payroll, workforce management and talent is a defensible mid-market suite price. At 250 people, $58 is not, which is a useful signal about who this product is built for. Dayforce's own navigation starts its smallest band at 100 employees, and the economics say the real floor is higher than that.

Two habits keep this honest. Convert every monthly figure to a first-year total before you react to it: a quote of $12,000 a month sounds manageable in a meeting and reads as $144,000 in a budget, plus implementation. And quote workforce management on its own line. Scheduling and time are where Dayforce is strongest and where the value sits if you run shifts, which also makes it the module most likely to carry its own meter.

Then put the total beside a competitor on an identical module list. Compare against UKG, ADP Workforce Now and Workday, or the comparison means nothing. Different vendors bundle different things under the same words, and "talent" in particular can mean anything from a requisition form to a full hiring platform.

Contract structure

The term is the price. The rate is a detail.

Dayforce describes its own contract shape in its filings, and it is more informative than any rate estimate. Subscriptions carry an initial fixed term of three to five years with evergreen renewal after that, and the company estimates it takes about two years to recover implementation, acquisition and other direct costs on a new customer. Read those two facts together and the entire negotiation makes sense.

What Dayforce says about its own contracts

Initial fixed term of three to five years

Dayforce describes this structure in its own filings. You are not signing an annual subscription you can walk away from. On the $175,172 average, a five-year term is a commitment approaching $900,000 before a single uplift.

Evergreen renewal after the initial term

The contract rolls forward unless somebody actively stops it. Put the notice window in a shared calendar on the day you sign, not in a folder. Missed notice dates are how a renegotiation turns into another full term at the vendor's number.

Roughly two years to recover their cost on you

Dayforce states it takes about two years to recover implementation, acquisition and direct costs on a new customer. That single sentence explains the long terms, the resistance on rate, and why implementation fees are the softer target.

98% revenue retention, by their own report

Switching an HCM suite is painful enough that almost nobody does it. Great for the seller. It also means your negotiating power peaks in the eight weeks before you sign and is close to zero for the four years after.

A vendor that needs two years to break even on you cannot afford a one-year deal, and will trade almost anything for term length. Use that. Offering five years instead of three is worth real money to the seller and costs you nothing if the caps are right. Ask for a renewal uplift capped at CPI or 3%, whichever is lower, and hold that harder than the opening rate.

The other clause worth fighting over is the committed employee minimum. Quotes default to a floor set at your headcount on signing day, and that floor does not fall when you do. A 1,400-person company that runs a hiring freeze and drops to 1,150 keeps paying for 1,400 across a four-year term. Ask for the floor at 70% of current headcount. It costs the seller nothing today.

And write down your notice date the day you sign. Evergreen renewal means the agreement rolls forward on its own unless someone stops it inside a defined window, usually 90 or 120 days out. I have watched a company lose an entire renegotiation because the person who knew the date had left eighteen months earlier.

First-year total

What a first-year Dayforce bill actually contains

The recurring subscription is the line everyone models and it is rarely more than two thirds of what you spend in year one. The rest arrives as implementation, modules you add mid-year, and internal work that never shows up on a vendor invoice at all.

The four visible lines, and the one that is not

Recurring subscription

55% to 70%

The only line most buyers model. Priced per employee per month, billed on a committed minimum headcount.

Implementation and configuration

20% to 35%

One-time, quoted separately, commonly 20% to 40% of first-year software cost on suite deals of this size.

Modules bolted on later

5% to 15%

Talent, learning, benefits administration, workforce management extras. Each has its own meter and its own renewal.

Integration and data work

Usually unbudgeted

Your internal cost, not the vendor's invoice. Benefits carriers, GL mapping, time clocks, historical payroll records.

There is a fifth line nobody quotes. Dayforce holds your payroll funds between debit and disbursement and earns interest on the balance, which it reports separately as float revenue. When rates are high that float is worth real money to the vendor and costs you nothing visible. Ask how many days your funds are held and whether any of that yield can come back to you. Most buyers never raise it.

Implementation is where I would spend my negotiating capital. On a $175,000 recurring base, a 30% implementation quote is roughly $52,500 of one-time cost that does not touch the recurring number a rep is measured on. Halving it is a real ask that a deal desk can approve. Halving the rate usually is not.

Benefit elections are what burns migration teams most often, more than payroll history or org structure. A mismapped election surfaces as a wrong deduction on someone's paycheck, and you hear about it from the employee before the system tells you. The sequencing logic in an ATS migration checklist transfers directly here, and a January 1 cutover saves you a parallel-run quarter.

Budget internal hours as a real line. A suite implementation at this scale pulls payroll, HR ops, finance and IT for months. If you leave that out of the business case, the project looks cheaper than it is and the people doing the work get no cover when something else slips.

New ownership

What the take-private means for your renewal

Thoma Bravo closed on Dayforce on February 4, 2026, paying $70 a share for a business valued near $12.3 billion. It is the largest take-private the firm has done. Nothing about the product changed that week, and I would not tell anyone to avoid Dayforce because of it.

Two consequences are worth planning around, though. The first is informational: the quarterly filings stopped, so $175,172 as of September 2025 is now a frozen data point rather than a live one. Every month that passes, it drifts further from reality, and there is no replacement coming. Anyone quoting a 2027 Dayforce per-customer figure is estimating.

The second is commercial. Per-customer revenue was already climbing about 10% a year while the customer base grew 4.4%, under public-market scrutiny and a 28.5% adjusted EBITDA margin. A leveraged buyout does not usually slow that curve down. Whatever you agree about renewal caps, module rate locks and the employee minimum is the protection you will have for the next four years.

None of this is unique to Dayforce. Private equity now owns most of the HCM category, which is the same story behind UKG pricing and the reason so few vendors in this space publish anything. Quote-only pricing is a commercial choice, not a technical constraint. Gusto sells payroll into overlapping complexity and lists exact base and per-person rates on a public page.

The bundled ATS

Talent is billed on headcount. Hiring is not a headcount problem.

Dayforce Talent sits in the suite beside HR, payroll, workforce management and analytics. It exists, it works, and for a company making a handful of hires a year it is perfectly adequate. The issue is the meter, and it applies to every HCM suite rather than to Dayforce specifically.

Recruiting inside a suite is billed against your employee count. A 1,200-person company making 30 hires a year and a 1,200-person company making 300 pay the same for it. The first is funding a capability it barely opens. The second is running high-volume hiring through a module priced as though hiring were a fixed function of headcount. Your cost per hire and your headcount do not move together, and in a growth year they move in opposite directions.

Before you buy the talent module, count last year's hires and divide that portion of your quote by the number. Either answer helps. Low volume says drop it and keep the money. High volume says you need a purpose-built ATS whatever your suite includes, and you should budget it as its own line rather than as a checkbox. The same math sits behind applicant tracking system cost.

Verdict

Who Dayforce is actually priced for

Worth the money if

You have 800 or more employees, your labor cost moves with how well you schedule, and you run shift patterns, multiple entities or pay rules complex enough that a continuous payroll calculation genuinely saves you work. That is the product Dayforce built, and at $14 or so PEPM it is priced fairly for it.

Look elsewhere if

You are under 300 people, everyone is salaried, and scheduling is a calendar rather than a cost centre. The implied PEPM at that size is punishing, the three-to-five-year term is a long time to be wrong, and a payroll provider plus a real hiring system will cost less and fit better.

My honest view is that Dayforce is a good product sold on terms that reward prepared buyers and punish unprepared ones. The single engine story is real, and the workforce management depth is the reason customers stay. The 98% retention is not only stickiness; a lot of it is people who are satisfied.

What I would not do is walk into that sales cycle without a number in my head. You now have one that came from the company itself rather than from a comparison site: $175,172 a year for the average customer, growing about 10% annually, on a term of three to five years. Anchor on it, quote a competitor against the same module list, and negotiate the caps harder than the rate.

Your HCM bills on headcount. Your hiring does not work that way.

Prepzo prices on hiring activity instead of employee count, with published plans, unlimited users, AI resume screening and AI interviews built in. It runs alongside Dayforce, UKG or whatever payroll suite you already signed for.

Try Prepzo free

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Dayforce cost per employee per month?

Dayforce does not publish a rate and its site has no pricing page. What it did publish, every quarter until it went private in February 2026, was recurring revenue per customer: $175,172 for the twelve months ending September 30, 2025, up from $163,101 in 2024 and $146,771 in 2023. Divide that average by your headcount and you get the implied PEPM at your size: about $29 at 500 employees, $14.60 at 1,000, and $5.84 at 2,500. Those are averages across a base of 7,025 customers with wildly different module mixes, so treat them as a bracket to test a quote against rather than a rate.

Does Dayforce publish a price list?

No. dayforce.com/pricing returns a 404, and every path through the site ends at a demo request or a discovery call number. The company segments its own navigation by employee count into three bands, 100 to 1,000, 1,000 to 12,000, and 12,000 plus, which tells you it prices differently at each and would rather not have those numbers side by side in public. The SEC filings were the only place Dayforce committed to figures, and that disclosure ended with the take-private.

How long is a Dayforce contract?

Dayforce states in its filings that subscriptions are typically structured with an initial fixed term of three to five years, followed by evergreen renewal. On the average customer spend of $175,172, a five-year term is a commitment near $900,000 before any uplift. The evergreen clause matters as much as the term: the agreement rolls forward automatically unless you give notice inside a defined window, so record that date on the day you sign.

How much is Dayforce implementation?

It is quoted separately from the subscription and typically runs 20% to 40% of first-year software cost on a suite deal, higher where you have multiple entities, union rules or international payroll. Dayforce says it takes roughly two years to recover implementation, acquisition and direct costs on a new customer, so a rep has a real reason to hold that line. Push anyway. It is a one-time charge that does not touch the recurring number they are compensated on, which usually makes it the most movable item in the deal.

Did the Thoma Bravo acquisition change Dayforce pricing?

Thoma Bravo completed its $12.3 billion acquisition of Dayforce on February 4, 2026 at $70 a share. No public rate change followed, because there was never a public rate. What did change is the reporting: with no more 10-Qs, the per-customer number stopped updating, so the September 2025 figure of $175,172 is the last verifiable data point anyone has. Deals of this shape carry debt and a margin plan, and price per customer was already growing more than twice as fast as customer count before the deal. Negotiate your renewal caps as if uplift pressure is going up.

Should you use the Dayforce recruiting module as your ATS?

Count your hires before you decide. Dayforce Talent sits inside a suite billed against employee count, so a 1,200-person company hiring 30 people a year and a 1,200-person company hiring 300 pay the same for it. The first is funding something it barely opens. The second is running high-volume hiring through a module priced as though hiring were a fixed function of headcount. Divide the talent portion of your quote by last year's hires and the answer usually becomes obvious.

How does Dayforce pricing compare to UKG, ADP and Workday?

All four are quote-only at suite scale, so comparison only works if you write one module list and make every vendor quote against it. Dayforce and UKG both sell hardest into shift-based workforces where scheduling and time drive the value. ADP Workforce Now competes on payroll depth and service scale. Workday sits above all of them on price and complexity. Get the first-year total, not the monthly rate, and make sure you know which product you are being quoted, because a mid-market bundle and an enterprise configuration are not the same currency.

Resources & Further Reading

Related Guides

External Sources

Abhishek Singla

Abhishek Singla

Founder, Prepzo & Ziel Lab

RevOps and GTM leader turned founder, building the future of hiring and talent acquisition. 10 years of experience in revenue operations, go-to-market strategy, and recruitment technology. Based in Berlin, Germany.

Customer counts, recurring revenue per customer, ARR, retention rates and contract term language in this article come from Dayforce, Inc. filings with the SEC, specifically the 2024 Form 10-K filed February 28, 2025 and the Q3 2025 Form 10-Q filed October 29, 2025. Acquisition figures come from Thoma Bravo's press release of February 4, 2026. Implementation ranges and negotiation guidance reflect buyer-reported deal patterns at this scale rather than any published vendor rate. Dayforce publishes no price list.