Back to Blog
Tools & Software|13 min read|

SourceWhale Pricing in 2026The reported per-seat cost, and what the demo call will not tell you

I went looking for a SourceWhale price the way any buyer would. The site has a /pricing URL. It loads a booking form. No tiers, no seat rate, no minimum, no trial. If you want a number, you book a call and answer two qualifying questions first: agency or in-house, and how many people work here.

That is a deliberate choice, and it works well for the vendor. It works less well for a recruitment agency owner trying to budget next quarter. So this piece does the job the website will not: it puts a defensible planning range on SourceWhale, explains which variables actually move a quote, and lines it up against three competitors who do publish their rate card.

Quick framing on what SourceWhale is, because the product has moved. It started as an outreach and business development layer that sat on top of LinkedIn and your CRM. In 2026 it sells eight modules, including its own AI-native CRM and ATS. If you are still evaluating the category rather than the vendor, our recruiting agency software guide covers the wider tool category, and the best CRM for recruiters explains where outreach tooling stops and a system of record begins.

One caveat before the numbers. Every figure below is a directional estimate drawn from a small set of reported deals, third-party price trackers, and buyers who have priced the product recently. It is not a leaked rate card and it is not official. I am telling you that plainly because quote-only vendors produce a wide spread, and anybody who presents a single confident price for SourceWhale is guessing harder than I am.

What is actually published

SourceWhale publishes no price at all

Plenty of recruiting vendors gate their enterprise tier and publish a starting rate. SourceWhale publishes nothing. I checked the SourceWhale pricing page directly rather than trusting an aggregator, and it is a demo form with a company size dropdown. Here is the full picture of what you can and cannot see before you talk to sales.

What SourceWhale shows you before a sales call

Per-seat rate

No number anywhere on the site. The /pricing URL loads a demo booking form.

Plan tiers

No named tiers. The modules are listed as products, not as packaged plans with prices.

Minimum seats

Not stated. Buyer reports point to a small floor, usually two or three seats.

Contract length

Not stated. Annual is the default in every quote I have seen described.

Free trial

No self-serve trial. The only entry point is a demo call with a qualifying form.

Module list

Sourcing, Data, Outreach, Inbox Agent, Conversations, Notetaker, Data Refresh, CRM and ATS.

Integrations

Bullhorn, Vincere, JobAdder and other agency CRMs are named on the integrations page.

The company size dropdown matters more than it looks. When a form asks whether you are 1, 2 to 10, 11 to 50, 51 to 200, 201 to 500 or 1000+ before anyone quotes you, the quote is a function of your headcount. A 40-person agency and a 4-person agency asking for the same three seats will not hear the same number. That is normal enterprise sales practice and it is worth knowing about before you fill the form in.

The second thing the gate costs you is comparison shopping. You cannot put SourceWhale into a spreadsheet next to two alternatives without spending an hour on a call first. Vendors know that friction filters out price-sensitive buyers. If you are the kind of firm that wants to model the spend before the conversation, that is a real signal about fit.

The working range

What buyers report paying: roughly $3,000 per seat per year

Two independent third-party breakdowns converge on the same territory. One puts the annual cost between $2,500 and $3,500 per user with an average near $3,000. Another describes roughly $200 to $290 per user per month, which annualizes to $2,400 to $3,480. Those two ranges were built from different sources and they overlap almost exactly, which is about as much corroboration as you get for a vendor with no rate card.

Here is what that means at four common desk sizes. I have included the read on each band, because the raw number matters less than whether the seat count makes sense for how your firm bills.

Desk sizeReported annualEffective rateRead on it

Solo desk

1 to 2 seats

$2,500 to $7,000~$210 to $290 / seatHard to justify unless outbound is your whole model

Boutique agency

3 to 5 seats

$7,500 to $17,500~$205 to $290 / seatThe most common band in reported deals

Growing agency

10 to 15 seats

$25,000 to $50,000~$200 to $280 / seatVolume discount appears, usually 10 to 15 percent

Multi-desk firm

25+ seats

$60,000 to $110,000+CustomPlatform fee structure, seat true-ups at renewal

The boutique band is where most reported deals sit. If the average contract value lands near $10,000 and the per-user figure is near $3,000, the implied deal is three to four seats. That is a small agency buying for its billing consultants and leaving the back office off the license, which is the right way to buy a tool like this.

Run the payback math before you sign. At a $20,000 average placement fee, a three-seat contract at $9,000 pays for itself on half of one extra placement across the year. That sounds trivially easy until you ask the harder question: would that placement have happened anyway through your existing outreach? The tool has to produce conversations you would not otherwise have had. Moving the same outreach into a nicer interface does not pay for itself. Our guide to sourcing passive candidates covers the workflow side of that question.

For in-house teams the math is worse, and I will say that directly. SourceWhale is built for agency business development, where you are pitching clients and candidates in parallel. An internal talent team filling eight roles a year gets a fraction of the value from the BD half of the product while paying the full seat rate. If that is you, look at general recruiting automation tools instead.

What moves the number

Six variables that shape a SourceWhale quote

The per-seat headline is the smallest part of the story. These six factors are what separate a $7,500 contract from a $17,500 one at the same seat count.

Seat count and the floor

High impact

Billing is per recruiter seat. Buyers describe a small minimum, usually two or three seats, so a genuine solo desk pays for capacity it does not use. Consultants who only run inbound do not need a license.

How many modules you switch on

High impact

Sourcing, Data, Outreach, Conversations, Notetaker and Data Refresh are separate products. Buying the outreach engine alone lands near the bottom of the range. Turning on the data and call transcription layers pushes you to the top.

Contact data volume

Medium impact

The Data product resolves verified emails and phone numbers. Contract terms vary, but data volume is the line item that gets metered, and heavy outbound desks are the ones that feel it first.

Annual commitment

Medium impact

Annual is the default. There is no published monthly self-serve option, which means the first real decision is a twelve month one made off a demo rather than off your own usage data.

Whether you take the CRM and ATS

High impact

SourceWhale now sells its own AI-native CRM and ATS alongside the outreach layer. Replacing Bullhorn or Vincere with it changes the deal size and the switching cost in both directions.

Renewal uplift

Medium impact

Quote-only vendors have more room to move price at renewal because you have no public rate card to point at. Ask for a capped increase in writing at signing, not at month eleven.

Module stacking is the one buyers underestimate. SourceWhale sells eight products: sourcing, contact data, outreach sequences, an inbox agent, call and text transcription, a meeting notetaker, automated data refresh, and the CRM and ATS itself. A demo shows you all of them working together. The quote you sign covers the ones you picked. Walk out of the demo with a written list of exactly which modules are in the order form.

The CRM and ATS decision is the biggest fork. SourceWhale now positions itself as an AI-native CRM and ATS rather than only an outreach layer. If you keep Bullhorn as your system of record and buy SourceWhale for outreach, you are paying two vendors and maintaining one integration. If you move your system of record onto SourceWhale, the contract gets bigger and the switching cost gets a lot steeper in both directions. Neither answer is wrong, but they are different purchases and should be priced as such.

On renewal terms: quote-only pricing cuts both ways. There is no public number for the vendor to hold you to, and there is none for you to point at either. Get a capped annual increase written into the first contract. According to SHRM research on talent acquisition, tooling is a growing share of total recruiting cost, and an uncapped renewal on a seat-based contract compounds fast once your headcount grows.

The comparison

SourceWhale vs three tools that publish their prices

I pulled these numbers off each vendor site rather than off a comparison blog, because aggregator pages in this category go stale within months. All three competitors show a rate card. That alone is a useful data point when you are deciding how much friction you will accept in a buying process.

SourceWhale

Quote only

Reported ~$200 to $290 / seat / mo

Pricing model: Per seat, annual, modular

Strength: Multichannel outreach built for agency business development, beyond candidate sourcing

Watch out: No rate card, no trial, no way to price it before a sales call

Loxo

Public price

$149 / seat / mo (Core), $199 (Professional)

Pricing model: Per seat, billed annually

Strength: Full ATS and CRM plus sourcing on one published rate card

Watch out: Credit pool on Professional caps heavy AI usage

Recruiterflow

Public price

$149 / user / mo (Platform)

Pricing model: Per user, monthly or annual

Strength: ATS, CRM and multichannel sequences in one published plan

Watch out: Contact data is a separate purchase

Manatal

Public price

$15 to $55 / user / mo billed annually

Pricing model: Per user, three public tiers

Strength: Cheapest credible agency ATS with published pricing

Watch out: Outreach automation is thin next to SourceWhale

The Loxo pricing comparison is the sharpest one. Loxo publishes $149 per seat per month for Core and $199 for Professional, both billed annually, and Professional includes 2,500 AI credits per user per month pooled across the team. That is a full ATS, CRM and sourcing platform at roughly the price a SourceWhale seat reportedly costs for the outreach layer alone. If your quote comes back at the top of the range, Loxo is the number you should be holding up in the room.

Recruiterflow publishes $149 per user per month for its Platform plan, which bundles ATS, CRM and multichannel sequences. It is the closest functional overlap with what most firms actually buy SourceWhale for. And Manatal sits at the other end, from $15 per user per month billed annually. Manatal will not match SourceWhale on outreach depth, but a four-person agency comparing $720 a year against $10,000 deserves to see both numbers on the same page.

My honest read: SourceWhale is genuinely good at agency business development outreach, and that is a narrower claim than the demo makes it sound. The multichannel sequencing across email, calls, SMS and WhatsApp is better than what most ATS vendors bolt on. Whether that gap is worth paying a premium over a published $149 platform depends entirely on how much of your revenue comes from outbound BD rather than inbound client relationships.

Getting a better deal

Five moves that work on a quote-only vendor

Negotiating against a vendor with no rate card is a different game from negotiating a discount off a public price. You have less information, which means you have to create your own anchors.

1

Bring a published price into the room

A Loxo or Recruiterflow page showing $149 per seat is a harder anchor than any discount request. You are not asking for a favour, you are showing the market rate for adjacent functionality. Quote-only vendors lose most of their pricing power the moment a public number is on the table.

2

Ask for a paid two-seat pilot instead of a trial

There is no free trial, so stop asking for one. Ask for a 60 or 90 day paid pilot on two seats with an agreed reply-rate target and a documented path to a full contract. Sales teams say yes to this far more often than buyers expect, because a pilot is a forecastable deal.

3

Get the data allowance in the order form

Contact data resolution is where usage terms live. If the allowance sits in a plan description rather than the signed order form, it can be reinterpreted later. Write the monthly number down and have it initialled.

4

Cap the renewal before you sign the first term

Five percent is reasonable. Uncapped is not. You will never have more room to move on this clause than in the week before you sign, and you will never care about it more than in month eleven when the number arrives.

5

Close at the end of a quarter

The last two weeks of March, June, September and December are when a rep most needs your deal. It is the oldest lever in software buying and it still works, particularly at a company selling into a fragmented agency market where deal sizes are small and volume matters.

When to walk

Four firms that should not buy SourceWhale

The product is well built. It is also badly matched to several kinds of buyer, and the sales process will not tell you that.

Solo recruiters billing under $200k

A minimum seat floor and a $3,000 per-year rate against a single desk is a meaningful slice of your tooling budget. At that stage the constraint is usually client relationships, not outreach throughput.

In-house teams hiring under 20 roles a year

Half the product is business development for agency desks. You will pay for it and never open it. An ATS with decent sequencing covers your need at a third of the price.

Firms without a working outreach process

If nobody currently writes sequences, tracks reply rates or follows up on day four, a better sending engine changes nothing. Fix the sequence and the cadence first, then buy the tool that scales it.

Buyers who need line-item pricing for procurement

If your finance function requires a published rate card before approving SaaS spend, a quote-only vendor creates friction at every renewal. Loxo, Recruiterflow and Manatal all publish.

The counterweight, in fairness: agency desks that live on outbound BD are exactly who this was built for, and the multichannel sequencing genuinely is stronger than a bolt-on module. The Google re:Work material on structured hiring makes a point that transfers cleanly here: process discipline beats tool selection. A firm with a documented outreach cadence gets more from any of these platforms than a firm buying software to paper over the absence of one.

Bottom line

Is SourceWhale worth roughly $3,000 a seat?

For an agency where outbound business development drives revenue, yes, with conditions. Three seats at $9,000 a year needs to produce one incremental placement to wash its face at typical fee levels, and a well-run outbound desk should clear that. The product is credible, the integrations into agency CRMs are real, and the multichannel sequencing does something most ATS vendors do poorly.

What bothers me is the buying experience, not the software. In 2026, a $3,000 per-seat product aimed at small agencies has no good reason to hide its price behind a demo form and offer no trial. The effect is that the least price-sensitive buyer pays the most, and the firm that would have modelled the spend carefully never gets far enough to try. Loxo and Recruiterflow both publish. That is the standard now.

My advice: book the demo, get the quote, then put it next to a published $149 seat and ask what the difference actually buys you. If the answer is outbound conversations you are not having today, sign it. If the answer is a nicer interface on sequences you already run, do not. For the wider context on what agency tooling should cost, see our breakdown of ATS options for staffing agencies.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does SourceWhale cost in 2026?

SourceWhale does not publish prices. Based on reported deals and third-party trackers, most buyers land between $2,500 and $3,500 per user per year, which works out to roughly $200 to $290 per seat per month on an annual contract. A three-seat boutique agency typically signs somewhere between $7,500 and $10,500 a year. Treat those figures as a planning range, not a rate card, because the vendor sets each quote individually.

Does SourceWhale publish pricing on its website?

No. The /pricing URL on sourcewhale.com loads a demo booking form rather than a price list. The form asks for your company size and whether you are an agency or in-house before anyone quotes you, which means the number you hear is shaped by what the sales team already knows about your budget and your desk count.

Is there a SourceWhale free trial?

There is no self-serve free trial. The only route in is a booked demo followed by a commercial conversation. If you want to see your own reply rates before committing, ask for a paid pilot on two seats with a short term and a written path to convert or walk away. Vendors that gate trials will usually agree to a pilot rather than lose the deal outright.

Is SourceWhale owned by Bullhorn?

No. SourceWhale is an independent company, SourceWhale Ltd, founded in the UK by Tim Hogwood with a New York office. It integrates tightly with Bullhorn and other agency CRMs, which is why buyers often assume a corporate relationship. If you are a Bullhorn customer, SourceWhale is a separate contract and a separate invoice.

Does SourceWhale charge per seat or per contact?

The base license is per recruiter seat on an annual commitment. Contact data resolution sits in a separate module, and data volume is where usage-based terms show up in most contracts. Ask the sales team to write the data allowance into the order form rather than leaving it in the plan description, because that is the line that changes cost mid-year.

What is a good alternative to SourceWhale for a small agency?

If outreach sequencing is what you actually want, Recruiterflow bundles ATS, CRM and multichannel sequences at a published $149 per user per month. Loxo publishes $149 per seat per month for its Core plan and $199 for Professional with a pooled AI credit allowance. Manatal starts at $15 per user per month billed annually, though its outreach automation is much lighter. All three let you price the decision before a sales call.

How do you negotiate a SourceWhale contract?

Bring a competing quote from Loxo or Recruiterflow, because published pricing is the strongest anchor you have against a quote-only vendor. Push on three things: the data allowance written into the order form, a capped renewal increase, and a shorter first term or a documented exit if reply rates miss an agreed number. Discount room widens at the end of a quarter, and a firm signing three or more seats has real room to push.

Recruiting software should show you the price

Prepzo publishes what it costs, includes AI screening and unlimited hiring managers on every plan, and lets you run a real pipeline before you talk to anyone. Start free.

Try Prepzo free

Resources & Further Reading

Related Guides

External Sources

Abhishek Singla

Abhishek Singla

Founder, Prepzo & Ziel Lab

RevOps and GTM leader turned founder, building the future of hiring and talent acquisition. 10 years of experience in revenue operations, go-to-market strategy, and recruitment technology. Based in Berlin, Germany.